Making a medieval apple tart

Recently I made a medieval apple tart. I planned this for longer, but the soft munster cheese began to smell as time passed. So I was obliged to bake this tart. While the blended smell of fresh apple pie with cheese began to fill the room I already started to write the first part of this blog.

munster cheese

Soft smelling munster cheese

I was inspired by the following recipe compiled by Kristen Wright. Beside that, I was searching for more recipes on medieval apple tarts. Gode Cookery also shows a lot of medieval recipes and even a short history of the apple pie. The earliest known recipe is from the 14th century. But I suppose the recipe must be much older because the basic ingredients were available in early medieval Europe. And the history of the pie goes back to the neolithic period when flour was introduced in society. I could easily devote another blog about this subject. Maybe I will!

So I used a bit from both recipes because I don’t have all the ingredients like the spices. Besides that I always run out of dough so I always make a bit more. Another variation is the use of pears and apples. Pear pies were also quite common in medieval cookery so combining these two fruits would probably not offend medieval man. This is the recipe I finally followed:

 

Pie crust:

– 2 cups of organic spelt flour

– 1/2 cup of whole organic milk

–  1 cup of organic butter

– 2 egg whites

Ingredients

All the ingredients

– 1 teaspoon of salt

 

Filling:

– 3 organic apples

– 3 organic pears

– 2 eggs

– 2 cups of munster soft cheese

– 1 tablespoon of cinnamon

– 1 tablespoon of speculous spices like cloves and nutmeg

– 1 tablespoon of raisins

– 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh organic ginger

– 1 tablespoon of organic honey

 

Preparation:

First, you have to put all the ingredients for the pie crust in a bowl and mingle. Mine was a bit moist so I added a bit more spelt flour. Leave this for a while. In the mean time you have to fry the apples in animal fat or butter. I fried it in butter and added the pears and raisins. After that the spices, eggs and cheese and then I mingled it all. Thereafter fill the pie shell with the dough and put the filling into it. Cover the pie with the rest of the dough and make a nice decoration in the pie. Finally, grease the egg yolk on the tart and put it in the oven for 2 hours on 140 °C.

The result: medieval apple tart!

Medieval Apple Tart

A medieval apple tart

1 Comment

October 21, 2013 · 10:30 pm

One response to “Making a medieval apple tart

  1. mienebeth

    Zo, dat ziet er lekker uit.Daar wil ik wel eens een stukje van proeven!
    Wat een leuk blog zeg.

    mem

Leave a Reply

